Risk Theory Society

Risk Theory Society Annual Seminar

May 20-22, 2022

Waco, TX

The Risk Theory Society, originally founded in August 1963 as the Risk Theory Seminar, is a self-administered organization within the American Risk and Insurance Association (ARIA) whose purpose is to foster research into topics in risk theory and risk management. The Society accomplishes its mission by hosting an annual meeting where papers that have been distributed to members in advance of the meeting are presented and critically discussed in an extended time format.

RTS’s 2022 meeting will be held at Baylor University in Waco, Texas. Read the call for papers or learn more about the 2022 RTS meeting.

See the April 9-11, 2021 agenda here.


David Eckles
University of Georgia

Past President
Casey Rothschild
Wellesley College 
Stephen Shore
Georgia State University


The Society’s membership is small but diverse. Most of the Society’s members are faculty members at universities in North America, although major European and Asian universities are also represented.


Membership in the society is earned by presenting a paper at the annual seminar. Each paper accepted for the meeting is given one hour and fifteen minutes for presentation and defense by the authors.

Call for Papers 2022

 Minutes and Papers

An archive of meeting meetings can be viewed by clicking the link below.


The Society keeps an archive of the papers presented at the RTS Annual Meeting. These papers can be viewed by clicking on the link below.



2022- David Eckles
2021- Casey Rothschild
2019- Ty Leverty
2018- Patty Born
2017- Greg Niehaus
2016- Alex Muermann
2015- Paul Thistle
2014- Lars Powell
2013- Mary A. Weiss
2012- George Zanjani
2011- Michael Hoy
2010- Vickey Baitelsmit
2009- Jack Marshall
2008- Larry Cox
2007- Anne Gron
2006- Richard D. Phillips
2005- Pierre Picard
2004- Arthur Snow
2003- Sharon Tennyson
2002- George Dionne
2001- Keith J. Crocker
2000- Robert E. Hoyt
1999- Richard J. Butler
1998- Mark J. Browne
1997- Martin F. Grace
1996- Christian Gollier
1995- James R. Garven
1994- Clifford W. Smith
1993- Joan Schmit
1992- Scott E. Harrington


For more information about the Risk Theory Society, contact Steven Shore, Secretary of the Risk Theory Society contact Stephen Shore, Secretary of the RTS, [email protected].