Early Career Scholarly Achievement 

This award was initiated in 2007 to honor the distinguished achievement of Risk Management and Insurance scholars who received their Ph.D. within 10 years of the award date. Applicants should have a significant number of high quality RMI publications relative to the length of their academic career, as the award is intended as a research award. This is a non-monetary award and will be awarded in years when an exceptional candidate is identified.  

The call for 2024 nominations is currently open.

  • Submit nominations to Andre Liebenberg, Committee Chair, at: [email protected]
  • Deadline: April 12, 2024

Past Winners

  • 2023 Johannes Jaspersen, LMU Munich School of Management
  • 2022 Loïc Berger, IESEG School of Management
  • 2021 Nicolas R. Ziebarth, Cornell University
  • 2020 Richard Peter, University of Iowa
  • 2019 not awarded
  • 2018 Ben Handel, University of California
  • 2017 Thomas Berry-Stoelzle, University of Iowa
  • 2016 Yijia Lin, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • 2015 Martin Eling, University of St. Gallen
  • 2014 Casey Rothschild, Wellesley College
  • 2013 Rachel Huang, National Taiwan University of Science and Technology
  • 2012 Nadine Gatzert, Friedrich-Alexander University of Erlangen-Nuremberg
  • 2011 Tong Yu, University of Rhode Island
  • 2010 Kathleen McCullough, Florida State University
  • 2008 Jeffrey Brown, University of Illinois
  • 2007 Martin Boyer, HEC Montréal