Risk Theory Society Munich May 17, 2014 Minutes – not yet approved

President Lars Powell called the meeting to order at approximately 5:25 pm.

The President thanked Andreas Richter, Richard Peter and Corrina Rupp for their work in organizing the meeting. Andreas presented Corrina with flowers as a special thanks. They received a rousing round of applause from the members and guests.

# **Approval of the Minutes**

The President called for the approval of the minutes of the 2013 meeting. After minor editing, Keith Crocker moved that the minutes be approved; Stephen Shore seconded. The minutes were approved by a show of hands.

# **Treasurer's Report**

Gene Lai gave the Treasurer's Report. The account balance was \$6,812.05 as of March 31, 2013. The account balance was \$6,156.15 as of March 31, 2014. RTS paid for North American travel for two individuals in 2013.

## Program, Attendance and Membership

Paul Thistle reported that there were 42 papers submitted, with 85 distinct authors. The program committee consisted of the Mary Weiss (Past President) Lars Powell (President) and Paul Thistle (Secretary). Ten papers with a total of 21 authors were accepted.

A total of 58 people attended the meeting, including 9 new members accepted into the Society, 9 guests and 40 current members. The new members of the Society are Pierre Chaigneau, Jay Coggins, G. Nathan Dong, Louis Eeckhoudt, Nadine Gatzert, Celine Crislain-Letremay, Johannes Jaspersen, Roger Laeven and Nikolai Vogl. The new members were applauded by those assembled.

Lee Colquitt and Mary Weiss, having been members of the Society for 20 years, were recognized as Life Members. They were applauded for their accomplishment.

Having missed two consecutive meetings, Jean Marc Bourgeon, Moshe Milevsky, Greg Niehaus and Xuanjuan CHen were expelled from the Society.

As of the 2014 meeting, there are 29 Life members and 69 regular members. The table below summarizes recent membership, meeting attendance and submissions:

Year	Members	Attendance	Submissions
2005	67	33	32
2006	66	39	49
2007	70	51	60
2008	75	42	43
2009	71	41	54
2010	73	43	42
2011	83	54	57
2012	90	52	54
2013	92	68	44
2014	98	58	42

### **Future Meetings.**

The President reminded the members that the 2015 meeting will be at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York. Possible dates for the meeting are in mid-April or early May.

President Powell then opened the floor for discussion of the site of the 2016 meeting. Mark Browne offered to host the meeting at St. John's University. Glenn Harrison offered Georgia State University as a host for the meeting. After a discussion of the merits of each site, the members voted to have the 2016 meeting at St John's University in New York.

## **Election of Secretary**

President Powell then asked for nominees for the position of Secretary. Gene Lai nominated Larry Tzeng for the position; Mike Hoy seconded the nomination. Keith Crocker nominated Alexander Muermann for the position; Mike Hoy seconded the nomination. The merits of the two candidates were discussed. Alexander Muermann won the election by a show of hands. President Powell thanked both candidates for being willing to stand for the office and congratulated Alex on his election.

#### **New Business**

David Cummins reminded the members about the ARIA session that will be held at the ASSA meeting next January. He also reminded people that the deadline for submissions is June 1.

Rob Hoyt noted that ARIA is looking for ways to reach out to other similar organizations, and asked that members forward suggestions to him.

Keith Crocker moved that the meeting be adjourned at 5:55 pm. The members voted with their feet.