Risk Theory Society Minutes from the 2007 Business Meeting University Park, Pennsylvania, USA April 21, 2007

The meeting was called to order at 4:48 by President Anne Gron.

Opening Comments

The 2007 Seminar of the Risk Theory Society was held on April 20-22 in University Park, Pennsylvania, on the campus of the Pennsylvania State University. Keith Crocker was responsible for the local arrangements. The seminar was organized by Secretary Larry Cox and chaired by President Anne Gron.

President Gron began the meeting by expressing her deep appreciation to the local host, Keith Crocker, for the outstanding organization of the Seminar. All participants enjoyed the tremendous facilities on campus, the stimulating papers presented at the meeting, and the careful planning and implementation by Professor Crocker and the staff at the Penn State business school.

Approval of the Minutes

A draft of the minutes from the 2006 business meeting was circulated. Keith Crocker moved and Art Snow seconded that the minutes be approved, as revised. The motion passed unanimously.

Attendance

Larry Cox reported that approximately 60 papers were submitted and the program consisted of 10 papers (23 authors or coauthors, with 16 present at the meeting). Seven of the presenters were new members (Rachel Huang, Rahul Jain, Michael McShane, Thomas Post, Florian Scheuer, Roman Schulze, Andrey Ukhov), one of the presenters regained his membership status in RTS (Paul Thistle), and the remainder were current members (Vickie Bajtelsmit, Kate Bundorf, Larry Cox, Neil Doherty, James Garven, Alexander Muermann, Pierre Picard, Larry Tzeng). In all, 49 members attended the meeting.

Membership

After the 2007 Seminar, there are 71 members of the Risk Theory Society. Four people lost their memberships for failure to attend the 2007 Seminar, Georges Dionne, Christopher Kingston, Greg Nini, and John Nyman.

Treasurer's Report

The Treasurer's Report was presented verbally by Gene Lai. Only one transaction occurred during the year and the account balance was \$10,012.14.

Future Meeting Arrangements

At the 2006 RTS Seminar, the membership decided to hold the 2008 Seminar in Fort Collins, Colorado at Colorado State University. The local arrangements will be handled by Vickie Bajtelsmit. She reported that the meeting probably will be held in the last weekend of April (Vickie subsequently confirmed April 25-27 as the dates for the 2008 Seminar). Tom Sager of the University of Texas indicated a strong interest in hosting the 2009 Seminar in Austin, Texas. After some discussion, the membership unanimously voted to confirm Austin as the site in 2009. Tom will handle local arrangements.

Officer Election

Three members were nominated for the open position of Secretary: Gene Lai, John "Jack" Marshall, and Mary Weiss. Following quite favorable discussion of all the candidates, Jack Marshall was elected as Secretary of the Society for the upcoming year. Larry Cox will serve as President and Anne Gron will be Immediate Past President. Per the documented customs and traditions of the RTS developed last year by former president Rich Phillips, the three officers will serve as the program committee with Jack Marshall assuming the chair position.

Recognition of Life Members

Jim Garven achieved the status of Life Member and was widely acclaimed for this feat.

Other Business

No old or new business was brought before the membership. With no further business, the meeting was adjourned by President Gron at 5:14 p.m.

Larry A. Cox Secretary