Risk Theory Society Minutes of the 2013 Business Meeting

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

April 6, 2013

President Mary Weiss called the meeting to order at approximately 5:04 p.m.

Opening Comments

The president started by requesting a motion on the minutes of the 2012 meeting. Paul Thistle moved to approve the minutes. Gene Lai offered a second. The minutes were then approved after a show of hands. There was no discussion.

The president thanked her colleagues at Temple University for the local arrangements. They received a rousing round of applause. She thanked immediate past president, George Zanjani, for his service as immediate past president and Lars Powell for service as secretary. Both received applause.

Program, Attendance, and Membership

Lars Powell reported that 44 submissions were received, which included a total of approximately 87 authors (this total is a simple count of the total number of authors on the papers, so individual scholars may be double-counted in this total). The program committee consisted of the past president, George Zanjani, the secretary, Lars Powell, and the president Mary Weiss. Ten papers were accepted involving 24 authors.

Total attendance consisted of 59 existing members, 8 new members, and 3 guests. The new members are: Daniel Gottlieb, Brad Karl, Ming-Hua Hsieh, Jin-Lung Peng, Chenghsien Tsia, Jennifer Wang, Michael Eriksen, and Mario Ghossoub. They received applause.

Due to their having each missed two meetings in a row, Georges Dionne, Shinichi Kamiya, Lee Lockwood, C. Sojung Park, Tong Yao, and Tong Yu lost their membership this year. There were no lifetime members added at this meeting. After the 2013 meeting, the Society has 28 life members, and 63 regular members. The table below summarizes recent membership, meeting attendance and submissions:

Year	Members	Attendance	Submissions	
2004	68		54	
2005	67	33	32	
2006	66	39	49	
2007	70	51	60	
2008	75	42	43	
2009	71	41	54	
2010	73	43	42	
2011	83	54	57	
2012	90	52	54	
2013	96	68	44	

Treasurer's Report

Treasurer Gene Lai presented the Treasurer's report. The balance in RTS' Vanguard Prime Money Market Account as of March 31, 2012 was \$7,109.64 and the current balance is \$6,812.11. It is expected, as usual, that there could be some requests for travel funding that are not reflected in the balance.

The perennial discussion of Risk Theory Seminar funding ensued. Some were in favor of deferring this issue until RTS was nearly out of money. Others called for a more proactive approach. In 2012, Mark Browne volunteered to ask the ARIA Board for \$1,000 per year. Prof. Browne was conspicuously absent in 2013. Thus, the issue was tabled.

Future Meeting Arrangements

President Weiss raised the issue of the dates for the 2013 meeting. Andreas Richter noted that LMU was looking primarily at the week of May 15-17 for the 2014 meeting.

President Weiss opened the floor for offers for hosting the 2015 meetings.

Two members volunteered their university for hosting the 2014 RTS meetings:

Rich Phillips volunteered Georgia State University Sharon Tennyson volunteered Cornell

Each volunteer then talked about the advantages of their location. Gene Lai moved to close the motion. A vote was taken, and Cornell was selected as the site for the 2015 RTS meetings.

Other Elections

President Weiss asked for nominations to stand for Secretary of the Risk Theory Society. Rich Phillips nominated Paul Thistle, and Lars Powell seconded. Jim Garven nominated Martin Boyer and Keith Crocker seconded. The candidates left the room. Support for the candidates was offered. Speakers observed that both were strong candidates. Paul Thistle won the election on a show of hands. The candidates were invited back into the room. President Weiss thanked both for being willing to stand, and she congratulated Paul Thistle. Applause followed.

Other Business

Marty Grace reminded members that ARIA sponsors a session at the ASSA meetings. Any member wishing to submit a paper for this session must do so by June 1, 2013. The paper doesn't have to be complete, but good progress on the paper must be demonstrated.

George Zanjani, on behalf of the Risk Theory Society, offered thanks to Mary Weiss for all of her efforts as President. RTS members applauded.

Keith Crocker moved to adjourn the meeting at approximately 6:04 PM and Lars Powell seconded.