Minutes of Risk Theory Society Annual Meeting

Baylor University, Waco, TX May 21st, 2022 (Not yet approved)

President David Eckles called the meeting to order at approximately 5:15pm.

Approval of the Minutes

President Eckles offered the minutes of the 2021 meeting for approval. Lars Powell moved that the minutes be approved, with Jackie Volkman-Wise seconding the motion. With no objections, the motion unanimously passed.

Program, Attendance, and Membership

Stephen Shore reported on the 2022 meeting programs. Program committee for the meeting consisted of Casey Rothschild (Past President), David Eckles (President), and Stephen Shore (Secretary).

For 2022, 26 papers were submitted, and eight were accepted and scheduled to present.

The attendance for the 2022 meeting included 38 registered attendees. Of the attendees, 32 were existing members and 5 were new members. (One was a local attendee whose attendance did not confer membership).

The 5 new members of the Society are: Arnaud Goussebaile, Jim Hilliard, Sebastian Hinck, and Philip Mulder, Boyi Zhuang.

Missing two consecutive meetings, 4 members have lost their membership: Lu Li, Michael McShane, Manisha Padi, and Paul Thistle.

There are three new life members this year: Dave Sommer, Lars Powell, and David Eckles

At the close of the meeting, the Society now has 107 members, 37 of which are Life Members.

Treasurer's Report

Treasurer Gene Lai did not attend but provided information via email. The balance for the RTS account was \$4,022 in 2021 and is now \$4040.55, with no transactions in the interim.

Quite Old Business

From the prior in-person meeting (2019) a motion raised by Martin Boyer offered a change to the customs and traditions of the Risk Theory Society. From the 2019 and 2021 minutes, that business is reproduced here:

• (2019 Minutes) He [Boyer] raised a motion to change the customs and traditions of the Risk Theory Society to make it a norm that the membership vote, by show of hands, at the beginning of each talk, to determine who among the co-authors of a paper would do the

presenting. Martin Boyer—who had asked Casey in advance of the meeting to bring this motion up at the business meeting—explained his view that all co-authors should be able to discuss the paper. This led to some discussion about whether authors of accepted papers are required to present those papers in order to become members. It was agreed that presentation is not required, only attendance at a minimum of 80% of the sessions. Keith Crocker moved that this motion be tabled until next year; it was tabled by a show of hands.

• (2021 Minutes) Casey moved to table old business. Lars Powell seconded, Martin Boyer thirded (unnecessarily). The motion passed 53 (yes), 3 (no), 3 (abstain).

In this meeting, Joan Schmit made a motion against the original proposal, and this motion was seconded by Thomas Berry-Stoelzle. The membership voted unanimously for this motion.

Somewhat Old Business

Proposal: Joan Schmit – in her capacity as editor-in-chief of the Journal of Risk and Insurance (JRI) – presented a proposal for dual JRI-RTS submissions. Under this proposal, RTS and JRI would enter into an agreement for a one-year pilot under which submissions to the RTS annual meeting would have the option to also be considered for memoryless submission for publication in the JRI. Each editorial body would make a separate evaluation and decision about each dual-submission paper.

Discussion: Dani Bauer noted that other journals do this already. Tom Sager noted that dual submission might discourage the submission of early work, though Joan Schmit countered that papers accepted to RTS currently are often quite complete.

Motion: Joan Schmit moved to approve the proposal outlined above. James Hilliard seconded. The motion passed with support from all but one member present.

Future Meetings

President Eckles noted that the 2023 Annual Meeting of the Risk Theory Society will be held at Temple University in Philadelphia, PA. Host Martin Grace noted via email that – like all Templehosted conferences – the RTS conference restaurant and hotel will tentatively be Osteria and the Doubletree, respectively. The tentative dates for are April 21-23, 2023.

Two sites were nominated to host the 2024 Annual Meeting of the Risk Theory Society: University of Iowa in Iowa City, IA (Thomas Berry-Stoelzle hosting) and University of Cincinnati in Cincinnati, OH (Annette Hofmann hosting). Thomas Berry-Stoelzle described Iowa City as "very nice" and noted it has good corn as well as nonstop flights from many major hubs. Annette Hofmann noted that Cincinnati has an international airport with nonstop flights to Paris. By a vote of 21 to 14, the University of Iowa was selected as the site of the 2024 Annual Meeting.

Secretary Election

Lars Powell nominated Dani Bauer to become Secretary of RTS; James Garven nominated Thomas Berry-Stoelzle; Casey Rothschild nominated Petra Steinorth. After a discussion

highlighting the strengths of all three nominees, Petra Steinorth was elected as the next Secretary of the Risk Theory Society.

New Business

None

Closing Remarks

President Eckles thanked former President Casey Rothschild and Secretary Stephen Shore for their work on the meeting, as well as James Garven for serving as a gracious and generous host for this delayed meeting at Baylor University. He also thanked Baylor's Melissa for her organizational work.

President Eckles adjourned the meeting at approximately 6:00pm.